About Us

Sharlston is an old mining village situated between the rugby strongholds of Wakefield, Castleford and Featherstone, West Yorkshire. Rugby has been played on the same piece of land for well over 130 years. The quirky ground was famously (or infamously) known for miles around as “Back o’t Wall”. Sharlston were founded around 1881, where results have been found, although no exact formation date can be found. They first started winning trophies back in 1895 when they were crowned Wakefield and District Champions.

Looking through the record books many famous Rugby League stars started on their trip to stardom from the village. Jonty Parkin was one of the all-time greats being captain of Great Britain in a thrilling Ashes victory in Australia in 1924. The famous Fox brothers, Peter, Don and Neil all hail from the village of Sharlston and learned their tricks at the ‘Back o’t Wall’. Herbert Goodfellow, one of the best scrum halves of his time also learned his football here. The village also boasts producing three Lance Todd trophy winners in Neil Fox (Wakefield v Huddersfield 1962), Carl Dooler (Featherstone v Barrow 1967) and Don Fox (Wakefield v Leeds 1968).

Sharlston Rovers were one of the early amateur sides to defeat a professional team in the RL Challenge Cup when they defeated Workington Town 12:7 in the first round, first leg in February 1946. Over a thousand attended at “Back o’ t’ wall” with Tommy Fox (father of Neil, Don & Peter) playing at prop, aswell as renowned Sharlston sons, Dooler, Lingard and Chalkley. Unfortunately, they lost the 2nd leg, 2:16 in front of almost 10,000 to a very respectful Workington side